Theresa May has agreed a draft Brexit withdrawal agreement with Brussels. Her cabinet backed it on Wednesday – but there have since been resignations.

Two cabinet ministers, and two junior ministers, have resigned over the deal – while some Conservative MPs have attempted to force a leadership contest by writing letters of no confidence in the prime minister. What happens now?

The basics: A reminder

The UK is due to leave the European Union at 23:00 GMT on Friday 29 March, 2019, after people voted by 51.9% to 48.1% for Leave in the 2016 referendum.

The UK and the EU have spent more than a year trying to agree on how the divorce – as it’s often called – will work in practice.

Mrs May announced that a deal had been reached, and approved by cabinet, on Wednesday evening. But two cabinet ministers have since resigned.

The deal would also need to get the stamp of approval from MPs and, finally, the 27 other EU member states.

What has been agreed between the UK and EU?

A draft agreement on Britain’s withdrawal from the European Union – including how much money will be paid to the EU, a 21-month transition period after Brexit day next March and commitments on the rights of EU citizens in the UK and UK citizens living in the EU.

It is not a trade deal – that will be hammered out during the transition period, if all goes as planned. They have also agreed to the text of a separate, shorter statement on the UK’s future relationship with the EU, including the kind of trade deal the two sides want.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here